McEwan Hall
McEwan Hall

MCEWAN HALL - BASEMENT


Bristo Square, Edinburgh, EH8 9AL

McEwan Hall plan

MCEWAN HALL - GROUND FLOOR


McEwan Hall ground floor

The McEwan Hall was presented to the University in 1897 by William McEwan, not only as a ceremonial hall for graduations but also as a gift to the people of Edinburgh. This iconic Grade A listed building was designed by Sir Rowand Anderson, with lavish interiors by William Palin. The building was actually completed in 1894 but took another three years to complete the interior designs, the centrepiece being the 15 beautifully painted mural panels that make up the vast dome.

The hall was reopened in 2017 following a painstaking 3-year, multi-million pound refurbishment. This was meant to not only ‘refresh’ it’s beautifully intricate painting and stonework; but also to expand the function of the hall to meet the modern ceremonial and commercial demands of the University of Edinburgh. New spaces were created for conferences, exhibitions, events and education – particular highlights being access to the upper gallery to increase seating capacity and a new expansive basement space that can hold up to 578 people.